Print this page

Home -Department of Ophthalmology

Welcome to the Department of Ophthalmology at Saint Louis University School of Medicine

In 1890 Carl Barck, M.D, helped found the Marion–Sims College of Medicine in St. Louis. A German born ophthalmologist, he became the school's first chairman when Saint Louis University absorbed the school at the turn of the century.

Over 100 years later, the Department of Ophthalmology of Saint Louis University School of Medicine continues the pursuit of excellence in providing patient care, resident education and ophthalmological research.

The Saint Louis University Eye Institute (S.L.U.E.I.), located at Grand Avenue and Highway 44, is a major tertiary eye care center, staffed by members of the Department of Ophthalmology, Saint Louis University School of Medicine. The S.L.U.E.I. offers comprehensive ophthalmic services and research in many areas.

Yours sincerely,
Oscar A. Cruz, M.D.
Oscar A. Cruz, M.D.
Professor and Chairman
Department of Ophthalmology